Help, I’ve Fallen and I Can’t Get Up!

20 Sep

Photo Credit

The other night we were watching TV and a “Life-Alert” commercial came on.  After the line, “Help, I’ve fallen and I can’t get up” Ben says to me, “Mom, you should get one of those, just in case.”  We all had a good laugh.  Then I started thinking, what happens if we fall in our marriage?  Who is going to be there to pick you up?  Do you have a couple you could turn to and let them know the knitty-gritty of your relationship?  Do you have a plan for when something goes wrong, when life doesn’t go as we planned? What if there is a miscarriage to deal with? The birth of a premature baby? A parent with cancer? There are so many opportunities in life to “fall” in marriage; to walk away from what you know what God designed marriage to be.  You need a couple you can turn to, a couple that can point you back to God’s design for marriage, a couple who can hold you accountable when they see signs of “falls” in your marriage.

This weekend: Take some time to talk to your spouse, pray together to find a couple who will help you in your marriage like this.  Talk to them and ask them if they will be your “life-alert.”  Meet with them, even if its just for dinner every so often so they know your marriage and can warn you when they see signs of “falls ahead.”

2 Responses to “Help, I’ve Fallen and I Can’t Get Up!”

  1. Robin September 23, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

    Wow – what an amazing thought. I never considered what to do during those “falls,” and this is such wise advice. I’ll have to talk to my husband about this. And pray :) – Robin

    • Valerie September 23, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

      Thanks for your comment Robin!

Leave a comment