Building Your Marriage with Post-its

19 Jun

I recently asked on facebook, “Where is your favorite place to leave your husband notes?”  Later that day, I found a tube of lipstick, (that I bought at the Dollar Tree before Christmas) to leave Gerad notes on the bathroom mirror, unopened.  I then realized how long it has been since I left Gerad a note.  I often have really good intentions in this area, because it’s his love language and not mine.  I try really hard to succeed at it, but often I just have good intentions.  At one point in time I had purchased a pack of small post-its and wrote a little note to Gerad on most of them, enough for one a day, for a year.  He’s probably gotten 10 of them.  They are still tucked away, I need to get them out.  The thing is, I stuck one of those notes in the bathroom and it’s still hanging there, at least 2 years later (see, good intentions, no follow through).  Our words are so powerful and are such an encouragement to our husbands.  The notes don’t always have to be suggestive (though that is fun too), sometimes just a note that says, “I’m proud to be your wife.” or “I love  waking up next to you” can make our hubbies feel like they are on top of the world.

Here are the ideas from facebook:

  • Leave a note in his car while he’s at work to find before he comes home
  • Leave a note in his lunch box, (I like to write them on his napkin)
  • Writing a note on the bathroom mirror, so you can see it when it fogs up
  • One suggestion was to date your notes so he knows how long it’s been “hiding” before he found the note
  • Leaving them in shirt pockets after you iron them or jean pockets while folding
  • Passionate E-mails
  • Having a box where you can both put notes as you write them
  • Using a journal to write back and forth to each other

Here’s my challenge to you.  Pick an idea and DO IT!  Leave a comment letting me know what you did, I’d love to hear about your successes.  I’m off now to go hide a few notes for Gerad before he reads this post!

12 Responses to “Building Your Marriage with Post-its”

  1. sheridan June 19, 2012 at 7:54 am #

    My husband travels occasionally for work. The last time he was away for an extended period, I sent him quick text messages to let him know I appreciate him. I tried to be fairly specific because my husband doesn’t do subtle.

    So, one text I said something along the lines of, “thank you for loving me, even when I’m frustrating”. He quickly responded wanting me to know that he wasn’t upset with me so why was I thinking he was frustrated. It took several texts back and forth to let him know that I didn’t think he was upset with me but that I know my mood swings can be frustrating for him to deal with and I wanted him to know that I appreciated him loving me through those tough times.

    We got a good laugh out of that one!

    • Valerie June 20, 2012 at 9:20 am #

      That is a great story!

  2. Rachael June 19, 2012 at 7:56 am #

    Good ideas Val! My husband and I send each other text message love notes every morning! It’s a great way t wake up, getting that first, positive, loving text of the day! We both feel like our day hasn’t started until we get our love notes! :)

  3. Becky June 19, 2012 at 8:14 am #

    I love the idea of using a journal to write back and forth. Right now, in our marriage, I work 1st shift and he works 2nd shift. We chose this schedule because we want to homeschool our children and not use day care. Therefore, we see each other in passing (literally on the street) on my way home and his way to work except for his days off. It’s no fun at all but it’s better than the alternative. I leave him frequent notes about loving him, missing him, etc. or even requests such as “turn on the crockpot at 3 p.m.” and having them all in a journal to re-read and communicate back and forth is a great idea!

    • Valerie June 20, 2012 at 9:16 am #

      What a great example you are being to your kids by leaving notes around the house!

  4. Elizabeth@Warrior Wives June 21, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    Saw your comment on Sheila’s blog and realized that I totally meant to comment on this yesterday and forgot!

    When we got married, someone gave us a little box full of small pieces of notepaper with the purpose being to leave each other notes. We did it for a while and then it got sidelined into a decoration. I’m pulling it out again.

    • Valerie June 21, 2012 at 9:59 am #

      Good idea! When we get home I’m starting our journal over, I need to keep it up and leave it where he can see it after I write in it!

  5. ctwitty98 June 27, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

    I did this a while back as the Five Love Language challenge. My hubby loved it! I need to start back up. Thanks for the reminder!

    Stopping by from WLWW link up! Continued blessings!

  6. thehomeschoolmomblog August 7, 2012 at 7:43 am #

    My husband and I have a small eraser (I know that sounds funny), that is shaped like a heart. It says “I Love You”. For years, we have traded off hiding this little eraser for the other person to find.
    It started when we were dating, an accidental leave on my behalf (honestly). He found it in his car and kept it. When we got married, he left it for me to find. Since then, we have been leaving this eraser all over the place. It has been 13 years and that eraser is still around. The best part is that every time I see the eraser, it takes me back to the first time!

    • Valerie August 7, 2012 at 7:46 am #

      I ♥ this! What a fun way to “find” your love for each other and a great example to your kids!

Leave a Reply

