Reflections

25 May

As a face is reflected in water, so the heart reflects the real person.
Proverbs 27:19

Recently, Gerad forwarded me an email he sent to a member on his praise and worship team who recently experienced an unexpected death in the family.  In the email, he gave his condolences to her family and then he did it.  He said that if they needed anything, their lawn mowed, groceries purchased, or cars washed to call him on his cell phone.  Now immediately my heart softened and it brought a smile to my face.  What a caring man I married, he’s willing to help someone in such a time of need and do whatever is asked of him.

Then, I got the prick in my heart, “Do I really think it’s that great?” “What if they really called?”  Sometimes the idea of something is so great and then our flesh takes over when it needs to happen.  Would I really think my husband was so great when he calls me after work to tell me he’s going to be late because he needs to go mow a families lawn?

Funny thing is one of the things I love most about Gerad is how he can always be so willing to help someone out.  He’s always willing to be there when someone is down and out and I LOVE that about him.  God has been using the experience to soften my heart, and remind me the attitude of our hearts is more important than what people see or think.

God is reminding me that being willing to help others, even if we never get the call for help, and most of all having the right attitude in my heart brings Him great joy.

Linked up at Time Warp Wife, Lessons from Ivy, Wifey Wednesdays @ To Love, Honor and Vacuum, and Women Living Well Wednesdays

Leave a Reply

